Gujranwala Local Body Election 2015 – Detail of Wards & UCs

Gujranwala District Local Body Election 2015 – Detail of Wards & Union Councils

Gujranwala (Sunday, September 13, 2015) – Local Government Elections are being schedule in Gujranwala District in Second Phase of Punjab Province. Voting in this District will be held on November 19, 2015 (Thursday) including two more districts of Gujranwala Division i.e. Hafizabad and Mandi Bahauddin. Nomination Papers has been start to submit from today on Sunday 13-09-2015. At present total estimated population of district is 44,00,000 (44 Lac Peoples).

History of Gujranwala City (Reference: Imperial Gazetteer of India V. 12)
Gujranwala Town is head quarters of Gujranwala District. It  is located in Punjab province on the North-Western Railway and the grand trunk road at distance by rail from Calcutta 1,294 miles, from Bombay 1,322, and from Karachi 828. Its population in 1901 was 29224 persons (Male+Female), including 10390 Hindus, 15525 Muslims and 2,181 Sikhs. Originally founded, as its name shows by Gujars, the town was renamed Khanpur by some Sansi Juts of Amritsar who settled here ; but its old name has survived. The town is of modern growth, and owes any importance it has entirely to the father and grandfather of Ranjit Singh. Ranjit Singh himself was born here, but he made Lahore his capital in 1799. The town contains a mausoleum to Mahan Singh, father of Ranjit Singh, and a lofty cupola covering a portion of the ashes of the great Maharaja himself. The Gujranwala municipality was created in 1867.

There are One District Council, One Municipal Corporation and Seven Municipal Committees in District Gujranwala. Detail of Distribution of Union Councils and Wards are given Bellow:-

Gujranwala Municipal Corporation = 73 Union Councils
District Council Gujranwala = 93 Union Councils
Municipal Committee  Kamoke = 36 Wards
Municipal Committee Wazirabad = 35 Wards
Municipal Committee Nowshera Virkan =16 Wards
Municipal Committee Gakhar Mandi = 24 Wards
Municipal Committee Ladheywala Warraich =  12 Wards
Municipal Committee Qila Didar Singh = 12 Wards
Municipal Committee Ali Pur Chatha = 20 Wards

Location Map of District Gujranwala (Wazirabad, Kamoki, Noshera Virkan, Qila Dedar Singh, Nadipur, Aroop, Janke Chatta, Rasul Nagar, Ghakkar andi, Rahwali)

Gujranwala District Detail Location Map
Gujranwala District Detail Location Map

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *